Professor Nebo Appointed New Power Minister


Former Vice Chancellor of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN) Prof. Chinedu Nebo has been named as the successor to Barth Nnaji as Minister for Power.

Mr. Kabiru Tanimu Turaki (SAN) takes over as the Minister of Special Duties in the Office of the President.

Nebo, an indigene of Enugu State, was sworn in along Turaki from Kebbi State at the State House in Abuja, on Monday.

In a statement yesterday, Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Anyim Pius Anyim, said:

“His Excellency, Dr. Goodluck Jonathan, has approved the deployment of the two newly appointed ministers as follows: (i)Prof. Chinedu Osita Nebo Hon. Minister of Power.”

“(ii)Mr. Kabiru Tanimu Turaki, SAN Hon. Minister of Special Duties Office of the President.”

“The two Ministers are to resume duties immediately.”

At the swearing in Ceremony, President Goodluck Jonathan charged the newly sworn in ministers to justify their introduction by bringing about changes in their various ministries.

A formal inauguration of the new ministers will take place today at the Federal Executive Council meeting.

Got news, tips, scoops, opinions or submissions for us?
Contact us at [email protected]